Topic

Best down hat/hood?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Best down hat/hood?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Nicholas Ward

@nrw4w

Hello all. I'm hoping that someone can help with this gear question. I'm wondering what the best down hat and/or hood is? I've seen the down hoods at zpacks and lukes ultralight. I've been looking at the black rock gear down hat. I'm gearing up for an early start on the AT. I'm also a high school football coach and its starting to get chilly – I'd like to warm my ears up ASAP. Thanks – Nick

Lance Stalnaker
    Spectator

@katangi

I think it depends on what you are looking for in the hat/hood. I prefer the hat because it is more versatile. I just got a black rock down hat and it is exactly what I was looking for, for my set up. I sleep in a hammock and use a quilt so having the versatility of the hat over my balaclava is nice. I use it as part of my layering system, a down hood would be too much warmth for me.

michael levi

@m-l

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles

For me it's a .8oz fleece beanie and use the hood on my 7 ounce down jacket.

BPL Member

@rememberthelorax

Nick: Best down hat/hood?

Well one is far from the other here Nick.

Most hikers (myself included) seem to think that one of the best rated down hats on the market is the Black Rock Gear Hadron-S – it offers an amazing weight-to-performance ratio. Price is a bit high, however if a hat is what you are after, this price tag can very much be worth it. If you are after a four-season hat, the Black Rock Gear Nobul offers a weebit better performance.

When it comes to a hood, however, it is a whole different thing. The following are the ones I have used while hiking and around camp, in order of most favorite to least favorite.

You have probably the pinnacle of all hoods, the Finbar Hood.