Topic

First aid kit contents?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) First aid kit contents?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Yak Attack
    BPL Member

@yak

Locale: IN, USA

Hello everyone. I'm new here. I'm not new to backpacking, but I am new to the lightweight thing.

I've been a bit down-and-out medically speaking for a few years, but I'm making the turn and looking forward to hitting the trail again. I weighed my first aid kit (FAK) tonight on my kitchen scale, and it weighed in at about 12oz. I think I can do better than this.

Just for background, I'm type-1 diabetic and have rheumatoid arthritis, so my immune system is a trainwreck — any type of infection is a serious concern because of the immunosuppressants I have to take for my RA.

With that in mind, would y'all care to share what's in your FAK and how you pack it? I've learned a ton from this place since I started reading here about a month ago, which is why I joined. Looking forward to your input.

I did read through the entire footcare thread (http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=82311&disable_pagination=1). Sorry for the mega-link, still learning how to post correctly…

Thanks,
    Yak

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

First of all, you want to think about what you really need in a first aid kit. For example, do you go solo or with a group? Where do you go? Some woods in Indiana might be quite different from some peak in Washington. Do you normally get out far beyond "walk out" distance? If you never get more than ten miles from the nearest road, then that means something. If you are always within cell phone range, then that means something.