Topic

Clothing / Sleeping help for Tennessee in October

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Clothing / Sleeping help for Tennessee in October

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    James Dieffenwierth

@shorembo

Locale: SWFLA

In early October, I am going for a week trek on the AT in Tennessee. Temps supposedly could get to the high 20's. I have very little cold weather experience camping so I am looking for some guidance on what to take. I am from FLA and get cold pretty easy so I am a little concerned about the 'worse case possible' scenario.

I recently bought the Mountain Hardwear Jacket, but the rest I gathered from ski stuff and florida living.

Sleeping Arrangements are (oz weight listed):
    40.6 – Single Person Wenzel Tent
    14.4 – Blue Pad
    36.8 – North Face Equinox Mummy Bag (rated to 35 degrees)

OPTIONAL
    13.7 – Homemade summer blanket made of 2.5 oz Climashield APEX.

Camp Clothes
    17.2 – Mountain Hardwear Compressor Jacket
    12.7 – Fleece Jacket
    8.5 – Long Underwear Top (Duofold 85% poly 15% cotton)
    4.7 – Long Underwear Top (Merona 40% poly 60% cotton)
    4.2 – Patagonia windshirt
    2.9 – Compression shorts
    6.6 – Long underwear Bottoms (Duofold 100% poly)
    4.1 – ski socks
    1.3 – knit cap
    6.9 – Teva sandals

Hiking Clothes
    4.9 – wicking T-Shirt
    2.9 – compression underwear
    9.3 – zipper leg synthetic fishing pants
    1.2 – socks
    15.6 – New Balance MT1010 trail runners

So this is the master list of stuff. I plan on hiking in the listed clothes with the optional windshirt.

For camp, I plan on:
    – clean compression shorts
    – long underwear bottoms
    – zipper leg pants from day hiking (if dry)
    – ski socks
    – teva sandals
    – Long underwear tops
    – wind shirt
    – mountain hardwear jacket

Questions: