Topic

Exped Synmat UL7 LW or Big Agnes Q-Core LW?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Exped Synmat UL7 LW or Big Agnes Q-Core LW?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Steve Davis
    BPL Member

@stevendavisphoto

Locale: SF Bay Area

I bought both of these from REI. I'm gonna return on of em. They feel of similiar comfort. The BA has a higher R value and is 0.7 inches thicker, but is 2 oz heavier, 1 inch shorter in width, and 2 inches bigger in diameter when rolled up.

Please no suggestions for other pads. Just wanna choose one of these 2. I've heard the Exped can have valve/leakage issues.

Dena Kelley
    BPL Member

@eagleriverdee

Locale: Eagle River, Alaska

I have no experience with the Exped, so can't offer a comparison. I have the BA Q-Core SL LW and haven't had any valve issues (or any other issue) with it. Seems to be a good pad, I sleep comfortably on both my back and my side and it's quiet. I bought it for the width and thickness- it's ridiculously long for me (I'm 5'5") but my dog likes to sleep at my feet so it works out.

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

My vote is for the Synmat. As you mention, it's lighter, wider and packs smaller.

The two advantages of the Q-Core are that it's thicker and more insulative. However, I'm not sure being thicker will translate into an overall more comfortable pad, because once you're thicker than 2.5" I find a little extra width to be nicer than a little extra thickness. 3.5" is sweet, but it seems pretty darn narrow to be that thick.