Topic

Bivy Advice?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Michael Fogarty
    BPL Member

@mfog1

Locale: Midwest

Hi,

I'm new to using a bivy sack, and just purchased one in a size large (70" chest girth x 45" footbox x 84" long.)

I'm 5'11" 190lbs and figured the extra room would be nice, and being I'm a side/ stomach sleeper, it seems to be very easy to turn around in, without the bivy rolling with me.
    I'll be using my WM Megalite and eventually a quilt with the bivy.

The only thing I don't like is the side seams lie flat on the ground, being that the bivy is so large in its width, where as if it was a slightly tighter fit, the seams would probably be up off the ground more?

Any disadvantages with a bivy being over-sized?

Also do most bivy users sleep with your pad on the inside of the bivy or on the outside?

Thanks for any advice.

John Haley

@quoddy

Locale: New York/Vermont Border

I'd guess that you have the TiGoat (I have one). Size wouldn't change the seam location that much, but do make sure you seam seal it. I use the GG NightLight Torso pad inside… plenty of room for that or most other pads in the large.

kevin davidson

@kdesign

Locale: Mythical State of Jefferson

I put my (non-inflatable) pad on the outside—-it helps to prevent the slick sil-nylon bottom from sliding around and provides some protection from abrasion of your expensive bivy. Pads are relatively cheap.