Topic

Fly and Bubble Tips?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Fly and Bubble Tips?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jim H
    BPL Member

@jraiderguy

Locale: Bay Area

I'm in the PNW (Seattle). I'm very new to fishing. Just this summer I got myself a little collapsible trout rod and UL reel, 4lb line, a couple small torpedo bubbles, and a selection of flies. I've been out a few times, and recently caught a couple small trout in a high lake on the dry fly (Lake Ilswoot up in the Cascades). It's a beautiful little lake, with extremely clear water and tiny fish. I noticed that casting the fly and bubble spooked the fish more often than it attracted them. Once I started casting as far out as possible and slowly retrieving, I could get them to examine my bubbly and fly witout spooking, and once in a while they'd nibble at the fly, but basically I had to let the line drift to get them to bite.

My question is this: Were these just poor conditions for fly and bubble? Is it better suited to fishing when they're feeding off of the bottom and you can attract them with a wet fly? I guess I'm just wondering if spooking the fish when the bubble hits the water is a common problem, especially in shallow or very clear lakes, or if my technique is seriously lacking?

Erik Basil
    BPL Member

@ebasil

Locale: Atzlan

Jim,
    It's a little of all those things. I also try to cast beyond and drift or draw-in to my target area, due to the impact of the bobber on the surface of the lake. However, I have a tip you might find helps out well: use 24" of 2lb leader on your rig. You can set up your bobber with a swivel clip on the distal side, and then just attach flies you've snelled with the two pound. The fish won't see that finer line nearly so much and your luck should improve in clear-water lakes.