Topic

MYOG down quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear MYOG down quilt

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Saunders
    Spectator

@boulderman

Locale: Front Range

This is my first attempt at a down quilt. I used M50 from Thru-Hiker, standard Gutermann polyester thread, and 8 ounces of 850 down and no-seeum (for 1" baffles) from Wilderness Logics. I relied heavily on the Lytw8 design and others who have posted here.

I decided to go with a sewn footbox because I find that I never open up my other quilts (JRB), so might as well save a tiny bit of weight and hassle. I went with the envelope-style footbox as opposed to the cinch-down type because it seemed to retain just a little bit more room side-to-side (which I like) and didn't lose as much length. The quilt is 50" wide at the top, and has a half-taper to 42" at the bottom (before sewing the footbox shut).

I'm quite happy with the results, and will try it out tomorrow night!

Quilt spread open

Closed

Corner detail

In the bag

James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Locale: Montana

Looks great. Congratulations.

Adam Rothermich
    BPL Member

@aroth87

Locale: Missouri Ozarks

Great looking quilt, Daniel. You forgot the most important thing though, how much does it weigh! You know that's all we really care about here :D

I just got the material to make a 2.5oz Apex quilt, I'm hoping to work on it this weekend. Making gear sure is fun, isn't it?

Adam

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

Locale: Minnesota