Topic

First season Michigander going to Shenandoah…Preperation

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning First season Michigander going to Shenandoah…Preperation

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Litwiller
    BPL Member

@ryanlitwiller

Locale: Michigan

Well this is my first year backpacking and I have faired very well in Michigan. I have done multiple trips along the North Country Trail.

I am heading to VA over Labor Day and I just wanted some live feedback to ensure I am on track. I do not personally know any backpackers so I have had to research and self teach my self what I know and I know it always helps to consult.

I am doing a 3 Night trip with my cousin who just moved to VA. He is ex-military but hasn't backpacked.

My (2) big Questions are weather and gear:

1st-
    I check the almanac and for the closest area I could find to the trail it looked like the average low was 60F. VA is further south then the weather I know in MI but we will be at 3k elevation so I'm not sure how much of a difference it will be to what I know. So any input on what nights are like in VA on the AT, in late august would be great.

2nd-
    So I have a pretty nice gear set. I got into bp on a budget but have managed to upgrade most of my gear. So my question is more about clothing and making sure I have what is necessary. So this is what I plan to bring:

-Wool top and bottom base layer
    -Few pair of socks(is wool best?) and active wear boxer briefs
    -wool hat
    -I have a ton polyester shirts think maybe bring a couple?
    -Rain gear
    (I have a nice Columbia top but unfortunately only have cheaper frog toggs for bottoms)
    -Convertible TNF pants
    -Zip off sleeves sun shirt
    -Jacket?