Topic

Learning how to use an ice axe this winter near Asheville

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Learning how to use an ice axe this winter near Asheville

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Locale: Montana

Hello all,

In preparation for a PCT I would like to gain the skills needed for high alpine travel. Mostly,I would like to learn to use an ice axe. I will be in Asheville all winter and would like to practice near there. I contacted SOL and NOC but they didn't know of any programs or instructors in the area. Any one have an idea how I can get the training I need?

chris smead
    BPL Member

@hamsterfish

Locale: San Jose, CA

I'm sure formal training is a great idea. I'm no pro, but personally I just watched a bunch of youtube videos(lots out there), then practiced on less risky ice crossings. Many take self arrest seriously and say you should practice it over and over until it's intuitive.

Btw, the lightest ice axes I know of are the Suluk Ti (expensive though), the Camp Corsa (my choice), and the Black Diamond Raven (cheapest and most functional, but heavier).
    -Chris

K C
    BPL Member

@kalebc

Locale: South West

I asked a ranger on Mt Shasta in winter and got a 5 minute tutorial on self arrest technique and how to hold the axe when walking

James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

I was thinking the Camp Corsa would be my choice as well. I think I will at least practice at a ski slope or something but would prefer more formal training.

James holden
    BPL Member

@bearbreeder-2

try your local alpine club …

;)

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

Go to a snow slope that's about 45 degrees. With a good run out so if you can't stop, you won't hurt yourself.