Topic

Quilt vs bag, input wanted (Alsek vs Hummingbird)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Quilt vs bag, input wanted (Alsek vs Hummingbird)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Vikram K
    BPL Member

@gothamist

Locale: Southern California

I'm mainly doing Sierra trips, concentrated in the shoulder & winter season, but am hoping to do one or two summer trips each year as well.

I currently have a -10 degree Feathered Friends bag for all the colder trips, which I like and works well.

I'm looking for something else to cover me May-October, so roughly a 20 degree bag.

I'm considering the Feathered Friends Hummingbird (UL version) vs the Katabatic Alsek.

I've never used a quilt before, but the idea appeals to me intellectually…however, I am a side sleeper, which I think may slightly negate the inherent quilt efficiency advantage (as the amount of down compressed under me is a smaller portion of the total down in the sleeping bag.)

I plan to couple the bag with a Regular size Xtherm (I've never used, nor particularly wanted a wider pad, even on snow–maybe I just don't know what I'm missing.)

If anyone would care to comment please let me know your thoughts.

Feathered Friends Hummingbird UL: 14oz of loft, 25 oz total
    = 25 oz

Katabatic Gear Alsek + Windome Hood: bag has 12.4 oz of loft, 21 oz total, plus 1.5oz for the hood
    = 22.5oz

Just off of the numbers, I would think the Alsek will be a bit warmer than the Hummingbird, and I'm a little concerned about the skinny profile of the FF sleeping bag. (Note that I'm 5'11, 160 lbs.)