Topic

Lightweight shelter for 6′ side sleeper?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Lightweight shelter for 6′ side sleeper?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Aaron Savka
    BPL Member

@joatman

Locale: So Ill

Noob here… I am planning to thru hike the River to River trail in October. It's 160 miles. Looking for a suitable tent to carry. I'm coming from a background of mountaineering, so my current tent selection is bomber. I do have a BD beta light and the beta bug shelter. Bug protection is almost a must have around here most of the year. At least for me…

I was eyeing the Nemo Meta 1P, but looks like it might be a little tight. I'd prefer a trekking pole tent over poles, but more worries about fit for now.

Anyone have a suggestion?

Kevin Schneringer
    BPL Member

@slammer

Locale: Oklahoma Flat Lands

Bear Paw Wilderness Designs has several good shelters- I own the Canopy 1 w/minimalist 1 & Bear Den 1
    Mountain Laurel Designs has great Products
    HMG has a new mid

and of course Zpacks has the Hexamid which is quite popular and very light.

You have a dozen or more options between these 4 mfrs.
    All have excellent service as well!

Adam Rothermich
    BPL Member

@aroth87

Locale: Missouri Ozarks

I'm looking to replace my BearPaw Luna 2 in the fall. It weighs about 26 ounces with all the bits and pieces and for the same weight I could be using a Tarptent Notch or SMD Lunar Solo, both of which add bug protection over my current set up. I'm heavily in favor of the Notch with its two vestibules and removable inner. I live in Missouri so I appreciate your desire to get away from the bugs. I find I can deal with them until about May and after September. Coincidentally that time period lines up with the heat and humidity being out of my comfort zone.

Adam

Jake D
    BPL Member