Topic

Where do I start?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Where do I start?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

I'm a sub novice photographer. I own a Nikon D5000, a Canon P&S, and an iPhone 4s. I'd really like to learn how to get the most out of my existing equipment before I think about upgrading.

Where do I start? Is there a book I should read or another forum I should stalk which caters to beginners?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

I don't know about your specific area, but where I live, there are community college classes for different kinds of photography. If not c.c., then sometimes a city has adult recreation classes that cover photography.

There are some books on outdoor photography, but many are very equipment-specific, and the books seem obsolete in a hurry. If nothing else, they tend to be a source of inspiration, and then the reader has to go put it into practice.

–B.G.–

BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping

Locale: The Cascades

You can also check out Meetup.com for photo groups geared toward beginners in your area.

Richard May
    BPL Member

@richardm

Locale: Nature Deficit Disorder

Hi Ian, I've taught photography on a few occasions and when looking for books the vast majority are technical instruction books. There are so many I'd recommend just going to a local book store and browsing until you find one that is clear to you. There isn't much magic to the technical stuff. It's like driving and the more you practice the easier the tech will come to you.

The magic of making good images is about seeing them in the first place, the technical simply supports your vision. Kind of like writing. Unless you have a good story all the writing skills in the world don't matter.