Topic

Minimalist Interchangable-Lens Camera Kit

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Minimalist Interchangable-Lens Camera Kit

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Richard May
    BPL Member

@richardm

Locale: Nature Deficit Disorder

We all select our gear to suit our style, that's a given. I'm curious to know what gear others take and the criteria for choosing it.

I've been a photographer for just over ten years, mostly shot weddings and, thanks to some upheavals in my life, am finding new directions and more frequent returns to nature. Landscape and nature photography is a new avenue for me.

As a photographer I've been through many phases and had serious G.A.S. (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). I own a large format camera, sold a Hasselblad with two lenses and worked with various SLRs. My cameras have gotten smaller over the years.

The UL axiom "The more you know, the less you need" holds true for photography. I think self-knowledge is an important part of the equation. For example, I'm not one to photograph wildlife at 50 yards. So, my odds of actually using that 400mm f2.8 bazooka are pretty minimal. I wouldn't purchase it. I do, however, enjoy landscapes and people in their environment so normal to wide lenses are my choice.

So, my criteria for a minimal kit is a wideish lens for 80% of what I photograph and a short tele for portraits, picking out parts of the landscape and when wildlife is readily photographed. This is my current 'minimal' kit:

– Fuji X-Pro 1 body 525g
    – 18mm f2 (28mm FF equiv.) 140g
    – 85mm f2 Nikkor with x-mount adapter (Manual focus from the early 80's, 127mm FF equiv.) 425g
    – Spare battery 50g
    – 32GB SD memory

Total Weight = 1140g / 40.2oz

Without the 85mm, which I'll often leave at home, the kit weighs 715g / 25.2oz