Topic

Favorite trailhead in kings canyon?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Favorite trailhead in kings canyon?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    terry tiedeman
    BPL Member

@terry62

Hi all, I have about 4 or 5 days to spend in King's Canyon before meeting a friend in Mammoth. I have zero experience in king's canyon so I thought to put the question out there for a favorite trailhead and if you have a favorite route for 10-15 miles per day of hiking let me know. Thanks a bunch, Terry

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Kings Canyon has a west side and an east side. Mammoth is near the east side.

The Bishop Creek drainage west of Bishop has lots of trailheads near North Lake, Lake Sabrina, and South Lake. In some cases, you may be crossing between Forest Service wilderness and the National Park. Trails interconnect the lakes, in some cases with the park boundary involved.

On the west side, some of the trailheads are a bit remote and require lots of driving to reach. Courtright Reservoir and Florence Lake come to mind. The one heavily used trailhead directly inside Kings Canyon is called Roads End, near Cedar Grove, and there is a permit station right there, if that tells you anything.

–B.G.–

Anonymous
    Inactive