Topic

Pure Grits Adequate for Snowy Mtn Passes on JMT ?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Pure Grits Adequate for Snowy Mtn Passes on JMT ?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Art …
    BPL Member

@asandh

my buddy and I are heading out for a partial JMT trip in 3 days,
    and he is insisting on using his Pure Grit running shoes.
    he is a tough runner, but an absolute newbie in the Sierra and doesn't have a clue what he is in for.
    we will be headed over several mountain passes, most of them snow covered.

I have never used the Pure Grits, but their traction and durability do not look adequate for what we have planned (at least to me).

anyone have Pure Grit experience in the snowy mountains ?
    (we will have poles but not ice axes).

joseph peterson

@sparky

Locale: Southern California

If the snow is soft, yes pretty much any shoe is fine.

If the snow is hard, no shoe will work.

Runout high angle snow that is hard in shoes is a deathwish. Cross snowy areas in the afternoon when it is soft and a pair of vans will be just as good as those fancy treads.

If your friend thinks he can cross a snowy frozen pass in the AM, dont follow him and make sure you say "goodbye" :-)

Billy Ray
    Spectator

@rosyfinch

Locale: the mountains

There is a large gradation of conditions that exist between 'hard' and 'soft' snow. Many of those conditions it would work best to have a stiff soled boot with vibrum tread… not just for traction, but also for kicking steps into the snow if necessary…

It is good advice to cross the snow sections mid day or so when the snow softens up… but… it doesn't always work out that way… sometimes you want to cross in the morning…

bill

Anonymous
    Inactive

"we will be headed over several mountain passes, most of them snow covered."