Topic

Long Underwear Question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Long Underwear Question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Paul Andronico
    BPL Member

@jakesandwich

Locale: Lake Tahoe

I am going on a 4-day trip in Desolation Wilderness in a couple of weeks. I have a 15 degree bag (Marmot brand with 20 oz. of 650 fill; yes I know it's heavy), and a Stoic Hadron Anorak (8.39 oz) with hood. I am trying to figure out whether I should bring my Patagonia Cap 4 long johns (6 oz.) and Cap 4 Hoody (8 oz.), or whether I should get some silk underwear at about half that weight. We will spending more total time fishing than hiking (probably hiking 4 to 6 miles per day). I don't want to bring warmer clothing than I need, but I don't want to end up cold and wishing I had carried a few more ounces. My shell is a Marmot Super Mica to the extent that is a factor. My legs rarely get cold, so one option is to get silk long johns but bring the Cap 4 Hoody. Advice?

jscott
    BPL Member

@book

Locale: Northern California

Good question. You want to substitute silk for heavier capilene.

First of all with a 15% bag you'll be more than covered at night. Since your legs don't get cold, the hoody and the anorak should cover you. Maybe one more thin clean layer for sleeping?

As to how silk performs on the upper body during the day in camp, for example, versus capilene, I don't know.

I'm also looking at long johns for camp/sleeping and it seems that silk is the lightest for performance in 3 season applications…? I'm talking the Sierra here–not too cold.

Hopefully people with experience will chime in…

terry tiedeman
    BPL Member

@terry62