Topic

PCT 2014

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists PCT 2014

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Ozzy McKinney
    Spectator

@porcupinephobia

Locale: PNW

It may be 11 months away, but I'm pretty excited about the opportunity to hike the PCT (northbound) starting next april/may/whenever the conditions permit. I've been backpacking and climbing for about 5-6 years around the North Cascades, and I have gear fairly "dialed in" on that account. A couple of of things have changed, however, the foremost being I am done with school and have somewhat of a disposable income now. Thus, I'm looking to make a few purchases to lighten up the load and add some comfort/convenience/what have you to the trip. Assuming a "normal" snow year with "normal" PCT conditions for the solo traveler, I'm looking for counseling or comments on my list.

Pack- 32oz – ULA circuit. I received one as a gift a few years ago and love the heck out of it. Can't imagine wanting to change it.

Shelter- My current solo shelter is a MYOG Shires tarptent. While adequate, I'm looking to buy something fully enclosed, easier to pitch, and I just like the idea of buying a new tent :P I'm really pretty sold on the Tarptent Notch. 4 stakes, 26oz, modular, small footprint, nice and airy. I am 6'5", and hoping I will fit in it. Contacted Henry and he said it shouldn't be a problem. I suppose I won't know until I order one and try it out.