Topic

Sierra clothing list.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Sierra clothing list.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

I'm trying to get my clothing list down for some Sierra trips this summer. I have very little experience in high alpine environments and I don't know what is too much or too little.
    The list is separate from my main worn clothes and will be used for camp clothing and cold/rainy weather. I normally hike in a polycotton shirt and I would change out of it into my icebreaker shirt with a windshirt or rain jacket layered over that when if it got cold or started raining.

windshirt – 4 oz
    icebreaker long sleeve wool baselayer – 6 oz
    golite running tights – 8 oz
    fingerless wool gloves 1.6 oz
    wool sleep socks – 2.6 oz
    wool Peruvian style beanie – 4 oz (probably replace this with something lighter, but it's warmth justifies the weight)
    buff – 1.2 oz (worn as balaclava or scarf)
    C.A.M.P Down Jacket – 9.5 oz

And then some kind of rain gear, I'm not sure what yet.

Is this enough to keep me warm and safe?
    I don't know if I should bring a mid layer or not. Does it get cold and wet enough to need a mid layer like a light fleece?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

I was doing a five-day trip last August, and I was along the Great Western Divide at elevations to about 13,000 feet. It pretty much validated the clothing assortment that I had with me.

I started with ordinary nylon trousers, a synthetic t-shirt, a thin long sleeve shirt for sun, and a baseball cap with bandana for sun. Shoes and socks got wet during stream crossings, and they would dry out incompletely during the day, so dry sleeping socks are important.