Topic

Need a new camera

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Need a new camera

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

I need a new camera. My current camera is an Olympus Tough 3000. And I'm tired of the sacrifices I make in image quality to get a waterproof camera.

I'm not a professional I just want a point and shoot that is going to take better pics then the Olympus for less then $200. Here are features I'd like
    -SD Card
    -Same battery as the Olympus
    -Greater then 3X zoom (not a deal breaker but nice)
    -Pocket sized or close to it, i.e. not a DSLR
    -Good at landscapes
    -Good in challenging lighting conditions
    -I can live with JPEG only

Any ideas?

Rick M
    BPL Member

@yamaguy

del

Ken Bennett
    Spectator

@ken_bennett

Locale: southeastern usa

I like the Panasonic ZS series — a big zoom in a tiny camera, with image stabilization and a wide angle lens. The ZS 19 is about $250 at Amazon. Decent image quality for such a small camera. The IS helps with challenging lighting situations, though of course that's limited by the sensor size. I often hike with the ZS1 that I got at Costco maybe 4 years ago for a hundred bucks. It does a good job for a p+s.

These days it seems every new model takes a new proprietary battery, so I doubt it will take your old batteries.

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Okay lets clarify my goals to the essentials.

1. I cannot spend $400 on a camera. Ideally less then $200. I could go a bit higher but I need a really really good reason too.

2. I like to keep my camera handy and take lots of pics. So I don't want a hugh DSLR around my neck. If it fits in a pouch on my hipbelt that is small enough, it doesn't have to be tiny.

Rick