Topic

Tenkara: Can an idiot fish?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Tenkara: Can an idiot fish?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Adrian Swanson
    BPL Member

@storunner13

Locale: Front Range

So–I'll be hiking in either the Wind River Range or Yellowstone this summer. I thought it would be fun to try my hand at some Tenkara fly fishing.

However, I have little knowledge with fishing, and NO knowledge fly fishing. Is this going to be an easy feat to achieve how much skill/practice time/gear do I need to catch a fish?

Steven Paris
    BPL Member

@saparisor

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Last winter, I got a Tenkara rod for the holidays. Sadly, it sits forlornly in a corner. I figure it's one of those pieces of gear that I can keep and eventually use, even if not using right now.

Anyway, most everything I read (mostly here, a few tenkara FAQs/blogs) was to start with this book:

http://www.amazon.com/Curtis-Creek-Manifesto-Illustrated-Paraphernalia/dp/0936608064/ref=sr_1_26?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1368052815&sr=1-26&keywords=fly+fishing

I can't say whether it has magically made me a decent fisherman (I have fly-fished before but it's been a while), but it is very accessible and easy to understand. It might be a good place to start. I'm sure others will chime in with more concrete advice.

Adrian Swanson
    BPL Member

@storunner13

I've just bought a used copy on Amazon.com…unfortunately my library did not have a copy..

I have done a little more reading and it seems that yes, Tenkara might be one of the more idiot-proof methods of fishing. Hopefully the book will help set me on the right path.