Topic

Any ideas for Gatewood Cape bug screen?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Any ideas for Gatewood Cape bug screen?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    douglas girling
    BPL Member

@dgirling

Locale: Adirondacks

I'm considering getting a 6 Moons Gatewood Cape, but I'd like better bug protection.
    Has anyone tried adding a bug screen?
    Or possibly have other suggestions for keeping the ruffians out?

Patrick Baker

@wildman

Dude, its already been done for you.
    Its called the Wild Oasis.

http://www.sixmoondesigns.com/shop/shopexd.asp?id=48

douglas girling
    BPL Member

@dgirling

Perfect!
    Thanks for opening my eyes to the bloody obvious.
    I'm new to this whole lark, hadn't heard of this before now, come to think of it, hadn't heard of the Gatewood cape before last week either.
    Cheers. You'll never know how much frustration you saved me – I'm lousy with needle and thread!

Shawn Basil

@bearpaw

Locale: Southeast

The down side to the Wild Oasis is that you can't use it as rain gear. If you want the dual-use option of the Gatewood Cape, you can add bug protection for another 7 ounces with the Mombasa Defender net: http://www.rei.com/product/728960?vcat=REI_SEARCH

Andrew King

@drewboy

Locale: Arizona
    Steve .

@pappekak

Locale: Tralfamadore
    Gerald Magnes
    BPL Member

@gmagnes

Locale: Southeast US

shawn
    Does the Mombassa netting protect against noseeums?
    Gerry Magnes

Shawn Basil

@bearpaw

Locale: Southeast

I would think so. It's a very fine mesh. The few tiems I've used it so far, I'vehad no problems. I'll give you a better report in July after I've finished using the Gatewood Cape and Mombasa Defender on the Tahoe Rim Trail.

D G
    Spectator

@dang

Locale: Pacific Northwet

Hi Shawn,