Topic

Cuben Fiber – what’s not to like?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Cuben Fiber – what’s not to like?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Packman Pete
    BPL Member

@packmanpete

Locale: Rainy Portland

Hey guys, I've been using cuben tarps for a few years, and am considering going back to silnylon or home-made polycro tarps. Why? There are some inherent qualities about cuben fiber that I just can't stand. I wonder if anybody else feels this way. I'm going to start this thread and list one frustration I have with cuben, and I would expect any other commenters to also list one. let's see where this goes…

It does not 'stuff' into a stuff sack. It's not compressible and slippery like silnylon. You must fold it and roll it as tight as possible to make it fit into tiny included stuff sacks. It leaves wear marks where it is folded each time, and takes two people to get it right. Hate it!

Tim Drescher
    BPL Member

@timdcy

Locale: Gore Range

The price.

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

It does not take abraision well without leaking.

David Ure

@familyguy

I have cuben (0.74) stuff sacks and they are still completely waterproof and they get compressed, twisted, and stuffed in my pack.

I have never used cuben for a shelter, however.

Edit: damn Iphone

Jennifer Mitol
    Spectator

@jenmitol

Locale: In my dreams....

Hmmm…

I have no problems whatsoever stuffing my cuben hexamid into its teeny stuff sack. Then it compresses even more when it's in my pack. So far I love the stuff.

I even like that weird chemical smell it has ;)

Packman Pete
    BPL Member

@packmanpete

I can't get mine to fit back into their stuff sacks to save my soul. I have to do this ridiculous and meticulous fold-up procedure each time. Drives me batty. I like to cram and jam!