Topic

Cook system recommendations

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Cook system recommendations

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Erica R.
    Spectator

@skrapp138

Locale: Between the Rockies and the Sierras

I'm new to backpacking (and therefore, backcountry cooking) – and I suppose from my research the one thing I'm grateful for is that I have no pre-concieved notion of a backcountry cooking experience). I've investigated everything – from Skurka's cat can stoves, Esbit, different canisters – and I simply cannot decide. I know people recommend trying them to see what you like best, but I'd like to finally be able to pick one to start with!

My thoughts on my stove so far:

– I am hesitant to use a self-made stove at this point – I think I want to start with something manufactured to get my feet wet
    – I need something that I can use on the trail for 14+ days – probably carrying 7 days of fuel max(I'll be doing the JMT this year)
    – I'm an avid cook, and I'm planning on preparing/dehydrating my own meals – I don't anticipate doing much 'cooking' on the trail, but it would be nice to be able to simmer quinoa, pasta, etc…but I can probably deal with boil-only if needed
    – I may need to share this stove with friends on my hikes
    – I don't anticipate needing to melt snow
    – I've been leaning toward Esbit fuel overall…until I smelled them at REI the other day! Is there a way to pack them without any smell? Does this fuel need to go in a bear canister?
    – I like the idea of having a canister stove for shorter trips – and Esbit or alcohol for longer trips. Thoughts?
    – I'm not in the UL – more the lightweight category

For cookware – I'd love to buy the appropriate pot/mug whatever for my stove decision is – recommendations for this would be great as well!

Thank you!