Topic

Zion Traverse and 2 Nights in Escalante

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Zion Traverse and 2 Nights in Escalante

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jim MacDiarmid
    BPL Member

@jrmacd

As the subject says, I'm traversing Zion NP from May 9-11 and doing an as yet undetermined trip in the Canyons of Escalante May 6-8, but most likely the Egypt TH-Twentyfivemile Wash loop.

Looks like the temps are going to vary between 65-90 during the day and 30-40 at night.

Gear list

Couple questions; should I pack my quilt, synthetic puffy etc in my S2S dry compressions sacks. I always forgo the dry sacks, but this is my first time in the desert with stream crossings in 12 years. I always just pack that stuff is the trash compactor bag to keep dry, which works with rain just fine, but with wading perhaps I should pack the extra weight and be more cautious. I also have recourse to a BPL Cocoon quilt as well.

Tim Drescher
    BPL Member

@timdcy

Locale: Gore Range

Unless your doing the Narrows, I wouldn't worry about the stuff sack for your quilt and puffy. The water you'll be crossing shouldn't be that high. I also always always bring a water filter instead of my chemical treatment in the desert.

David Ure

@familyguy

Very little water in Zions as of last week. Highs of 85F at higher elevations and lows of 31F. Quite the swing.

Jim MacDiarmid
    BPL Member

@jrmacd

I assume that's because the water is more silty? I only have a Frontier Pro filter, I'm not sure how well that would handle silty water. I suppose I'd filter it through a bandana filter.

David Ure

@familyguy