Topic

Wrightsocks & Fire-starting

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Wrightsocks & Fire-starting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Steve Davis
    BPL Member

@stevendavisphoto

Locale: SF Bay Area

I'm just getting into lightweight backpacking. I got some Salomon XT Wings 3 Trail Runners for shoes. Took them on a 7 mile day hike and really enjoyed them. Got a little bit of iritation on part of my foot though with my older wool socks, so I went to REI today and got 2 pairs of WrightSocks Coolmesh II's. They're double-lined and thin, but supposed to be really good. ARE they good?

I also put together a small fire-starting kit in a 1oz plastic bottle consisting of storm matches, regular matches, and a few tinder starters. Wondering if I need all that, or should I just carry a cheap bic lighter or 2?

Thanks. New to backpacking and trying to figure out all the best/lightest stuff.

Mike Stromsoe

@phstudio

Locale: So. Cal.

I personally love the wright socks. I now own more pairs of Wrightsocks than any other socks I own. Whether i'm on a backcountry adventure or lounging around in my living room, they are the most comfortable socks I have tried.

For backpacking, I used to use the Smartwool light mini socks. I don't think they last as long as the Wrightsocks and when I wear them now, they feel like I'm wearing oven mitts on my feet, by comparison.

Dustin Short
    BPL Member

@upalachango