Topic

Glacier NP planning help

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Glacier NP planning help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Douglas Raymond

@dougr320

Locale: Indy

We'll I've been bitten by the bug. I NEED to get to glacier, its not an option! This will be the the first time I've flow to a hiking destination and want to make the most by planning out my days as best I can. I'm thinking mid to late july time frame for getting out there. I'm a complete newb to hiking out west so we'll probably focus on day hikes. Start off easy and go a little more moderate during the week. Is there a book anyone can recommend or some of the must see hikes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9OoAIF-jes&list=PL9C8CA4F8F01AA686

I saw this video on and really want to repeat this hike. We will only have one car, how can I get a shuttle from the motor inn to logan pass on the going to the sun road so i can do a point to point hike.

MFR
    Spectator

@bigriverangler

Locale: West

The later in July you come, the more trails will be open. The Falcon Guides book by Eric Molvar is a good start.

With the Highline Trail, you can start early (really early, 7:00 or so), leave a car at the Loop, take the shuttle to Logan Pass, and you can hike down from Granite Park Chalet to your car. Otherwise, you can hire a shuttle to St. Mary from Many Glacier, and then you can take the free park shuttle to Logan Pass.

Some of my other favorite dayhikes include:

Siyeh Pass (leave a car at Sunrift Gorge, take the shuttle to Siyeh Bend)
    Ptarmigan Tunnel/Iceberg Lake (do them together)
    Dawson-Pitamakan (a true loop, though I prefer to do it Pitamakan Dawson, counterclockwise)