Topic

5-day Grand Canyon – decisions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists 5-day Grand Canyon – decisions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Mike In Socal
    BPL Member

@rcmike

Locale: California

I'm doing a 5-day Grand Canyon trip (Tanner-Eacalante-Grandview) in a couple weeks with a couple friends. This is my first time there and I need help deciding what gear would be best for this trip.

Tent: Hilleberg Akto or BA Fly Creek UL2. I have a spinntwinn but have not used it yet – unsure about wind conditions.

Stove: Soto od-1r or White Box solo II. EDIT: I am probably going to take the Soto due to the length of the trip – more BTU's per oz. Is that the correct logic?

Thanks

EDIT:
    Based on some reading, I've decided on the following:

BA Fly Creek UL2 (lighter is better). Not too concerned about wind and I will be sure to stake out properly.

Stove: Soto OD-1R. It looks like the fuel I will need will weigh less if I use a canister stove over 5 days.

Sumi Wada
    Spectator

@detroittigerfan

Locale: Ann Arbor

FWIW, you don't need a double-wall tent in the Canyon. In fact, you rarely need a shelter. I take a tarp that I put up maybe one night out of 8. If you just prefer sleeping in a shelter for some reason, you won't be able to use stakes at least half of the time. But there are plenty of rocks. If you want to anchor a tent, it's easier if you have extra line on the loops.

Doubt that wind will be an issue in April.

Make sure you have some sort of food protection from the mice.

I've heard reports in the last few days that the Colorado is starting to get muddy below LCR from the spring run-off.

Mike In Socal
    BPL Member

@rcmike