Topic

Appalachian Trail SOBO Thru Hike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Appalachian Trail SOBO Thru Hike

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Gabe D
    BPL Member

@gabed

I am a relative beginner at all of this stuff, so I would appreciate any help refining my gear list. It has taken me a long time of research, but here is (give or take) my planned gear list for this summer's hike: http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=12154

I tried to have all the gear I pick fit into all three categories:
    1) Lightweight
    2) Durable
    3) Reasonably priced

Maybe I am skipping something, or maybe there is some better gear out there. Please, criticism is WANTED. I feel that I could lose a pound or two without spending much more money, or maybe I am skimping out on something vital.

A few notes:
    Might go to a hiking staff, like the LuxuryLite BigStick.
    Could always go to a rain skirt, such as those from ULA.
    Could cut my AT Guide into sections and ship them in intervals.
    Frame-less packs are not out of the equation, I just need one that is somewhat durable.
    I understand that I still need lines and spikes for my tarp, I am still looking into those as I am new to tarping.

Thanks for any help.

Brian Lewis

@brianle

Locale: Pacific NW

I personally don't use rain pants much, but I tend to "run hot" (metabolism). But I'd prefer a rain skirt over rain pants, with the caveat that they're not so good when the wind is up.

But if you do ditch the rain pants, make sure you think through your "town clothes" strategy (a wind skirt might work for some, others wouldn't be so happy with that option).

I don't know what a "thermal jacket" is, but 11+ oz seems like a lot; I hope this is plenty warm. My Montbell EX Light down jacket weighs about 6 oz.

A leather hat?!? Why?