Topic

which tent to get

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) which tent to get

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 94 total)
  • Author
    stuart shahan

@phatmanforya

I know this horse has probably been beaten to death but I’m new to ultra light and there just too many post to read

I’m looking for tent that will do a couple of things for me. first off it needs to be a good storm shelter I don’t want to get wet when I’m sleeping, seccond NO BUGS I hate getting woke up by mosquitos. I would also like to keep it under 3lbs. but but I’m willing to sacrifice a little weight for lots more comfort.

one tent I liked was the wanderlust NOMAD lite but I question how storm proof it is in blowing rain (when the wind switches direction)

any info or suggestions would be helpfull

paul johnson

@pj

Locale: LazyBoy in my Den - miss the forest

as part of my “quest” for perfect gear – I’ve used a number of lt. wt. 3-season tents. i’ll list some of them for you. i’m not very familiar with 4-season tents, but some other who post here certainly are. i’ll list two 4-season tents based upon their posts. they all meet your requirements. i mainly camp 3-seasons (some winter camping though) above freezing in New England – lots of rain (sometimes light-mod for days or torrential downpours for a couple of hours, “skeeters” in So. NE & black flies in Maine, humid & hot in the summer (over 90 deg, sometimes with 70-100% rel. humidity; can even be 80’s a night for part of the summer with HIGH humidity), often late afternoon, evening, nightime thunderstorms. all camping in forests & hills.

to keep this post short & so that you will research them for yourself & get better, more accurate info than i could provide you on specifications, i’m not going to say much about each shelter.