Topic

New in California

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    James Cahill
    BPL Member

@dmatb

Locale: Norf Carl

New to southern California (San Diego) and new to the Forum. I've been lurkin hard for a good while now but I figure it's time to register. Most of my backpacking experience is East Coast / Minnesota, so this warm, dry and overly beautiful climate is new to me. I've been searching through the site for local information, and there seems to be a fair amount on the PCT and JMT. As I am a poor college student without a car, my adventures may have to be limited to where I can walk to or take a bus from San Diego. There seems to be a bunch of cool places locally, and even though I'll probably figure this stuff out as I go I might as well ask about a couple of things:

Sneaky rainstorms? Do they materialize from nowhere like they do back east, or is a sunny forecast fairly accurate

Ferocity of micro-bears? I usually hang my food but i've noticed there are areas here with few trees…

Bugs? People say they're not that bad, but I'd rather not find out otherwise when I neglect to bring a mosquito net

Water? Hiking in the desert seems like it might be different from the BWCA. Do you pack it all or can you find some

Anything else that you locals may take for granted?

Other than that I think I landed on the easy side of the transition; I'd rather go from cold to warm than the other way around. I hope I can get into the mountains at some point and make use of my winter gear. Thanks for taking the time to read,

– James

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

My grandparents on both sides went to Yosemite in the 1920's. I attended SDSU for a while.

>I am a poor college student without a car