Topic

Need pack help, suggestions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Need pack help, suggestions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Edwin Lamberth
    BPL Member

@alfisher

I am fairly new to this BPL thing. As folks have suggested, I have waited until the end of my new purchases to buy a pack. I am there now.

Don't laugh, but I need suggestions on a pack that will hold up to 40lbs comfortably. Why so much you ask? First, I fish and as you know fisherman like to bring lots of junk. I am scaling this down in hopes of making to 33-35 lbs, but in case I can't, I want 40lbs of load carrying ability. Second, I figure if I overshoot a little, the pack will definitely be comfortable with lighter weights. Finally, I am sure I will take my kids hiking/camping again and it will be nice to have the ability to carry as much of their stuff as possible.

So far, I am looking at the ULA Catalyst (add the frame sheet), Kelty Soar, GG Nimbus Ozone and GG Nimbus Meridian. Any other suggestions? Unforunately, except for the Kelty and maybe one of the GG's, I won't be able to try before I buy.

Thanks.

Russell Swanson

@rswanson

Locale: Midatlantic

I'd really consider the ULA pack. I think they're best in class. There are many, many happy Granite Gear owners out there, as well. Another line to which you should give is the Osprey Atmos series.

Lapsley Hope

@laps

I'll second the ULA.
    Just used the Catalyst for 3 days in the N.C. mountains and while this was my first outing with this pack I can say confidently that it deserves all the positive comments I've read about previously. Very comfortable, fit my torso perfectly, never shifted and has plenty of space inside and out for extended hikes.

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA