Topic

Meat for Dehydrated meals

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Meat for Dehydrated meals

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Leslie Erickson

@lesliegericksongmail-com

I posted this on another thread, but thought maybe I should put it on its own.

I'm starting to put together my menu and prepare my meals for the JMT this summer. I'm new to all this, and I have a few books that seem to be good references. I was wondering if anyone uses these freeze-dried meats from Costco (or similar) when putting these meals together.

Any other suggestions would be welcome.

(I have to put these all together to be included in my resupply packages and the initial load before I leave home the middle of May, even though I won't begin the JMT till July 3. I'll be hiking in southern Utah and Washington state for the 6 weeks leading up to the JMT, so it has to be done early.)

Kevin Buggie
    BPL Member

@kbug

Locale: NW New Mexico

….is very yummy. Buy the large cans of all white meat pre-cooked chicken (I buy Swansons brand for least amount of salt and fat of the major brands). Dehydrate at 160 F for 6-12 hours and crumble-up any larger chunks before drying. It keeps for months at room temperature, though I store batches in the fridge, and it re-hydrates really well since it has been crumbled into small pieces. I find it to be a great protein addition that pairs well with any spice combo or regional cusine (curries etc).