Topic

Quilt Stacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Quilt Stacking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Henry Thomas
    BPL Member

@hthomas

I am a hammock camper but for winer camping top quilt stacking should be the same in a hammock or on the ground. I have a 0 degree top quilt and i am thinking of using a 40 degree EE synthetic quilt over it for below 0 warmth. Any experience with moisture in the down quilt being reduced by this method.

James DeGraaf
    BPL Member

@jdegraaf

Locale: Bay Area

I had a chance to try this out last weekend. In California temps don't get much below 30*. However I stacked an EE Prodigy 40* over a Katabatic Palisades and was roasty toasty all through the night down to less than 30*. I'm a cold sleeper however. No condensation to report in the down quilt, however, there was obvious amounts of condensation build up in the synthetic quilt.
    The system works though, no condensation in down quilt!
    I would expect your tests to be successful. Good luck.
    -James

Kevin @ Seek Outside
    BPL Member

@ktimm

Locale: Colorado (SeekOutside)

I've dome similar. I've taken two EE 20 degree quilts and a insulated bivy to -25F. It does help move condensation as much as your outside layer provides. For example a 40 degree synthetic will probably move condensation to about 0F (where the temp inside the quilt is once again below freezing).

Kevin

Nico .
    BPL Member

@nickb

Locale: Los Padres National Forest

I've been looking into this as well to extend my winter sleep system, so I'm interested in hearing others' findings, experiences and tips/tricks.