Topic

Henry W. Coe as a first solo trip

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Henry W. Coe as a first solo trip

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Matt Keenan
    Spectator

@mlkeenan

Locale: In the Mountains in the clouds

So me and my buddy were supposed to do a two nighter in the coes for this weekend but something came up and he can no longer go. The timing ,4 day weekend for me =), and the weather highs in the low 70's lows in the mid 40's are way to good for me to pass up. This would be my first time in the Coes, is it a good place for a 1st solo trip? It doesnt seem like it would very technical but as I said I ve never been so I dont know. Are the trails well marked? Any tips for the newbie soloists?

Background

I'm relatively new to backpacking(and life for that matter at 19)went on my first trip when I was 16 had a really bad experience with it(altitude sickness) but fell in love with it and have been going as often as I can ever since . Did twelve trips last year doing around 200 miles total, leading a few following in most. I work as a life guard in the summer so I do have some formal first aid training. My current base weight is around 12 pounds Thank you for your time.

Justin Baker
    BPL Member

@justin_baker

Locale: Santa Rosa, CA

Henry Coe is a perfect place for a first solo trip. There is nothing too difficult or hardcore about it. I have heard about it getting pretty cold there at times.

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

You're ready. Watch for ticks. Maps available at the visitor center. Signage is pretty good out there. Have fun!

USA Duane Hall
    BPL Member

@hikerduane

Locale: Extreme northern Sierra Nevada