Topic

Doug’s Sub-4 Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Doug’s Sub-4 Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 37 total)
  • Author
    Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Hello all,

I've been playing with SUL for a few years now and fine tuning my kit. Here's my latest SUL Sub-4 Gear List.

I'd love your feedback. The red items indicate gear ordered but not in hand yet so weights may be wrong.

A couple of things I'm proud of here: Warm sleep system (I sleep cold), got in my camera and mp3 player and am still sub-4 (I love my music in rough stretches on really long days- it's better than GU for this guy.

The shoes are heavier than my Inov-8s but I'm so happy with the comfort that I don't care!

Thanks!
    Doug

JW
    BPL Member

@litetrail

Doug,

Nice, solid list. You've got lots of experience and it shows. As a BPL staffer, it better be a tight list! :)

BTW, any specs on the MLD poncho that's not out yet? I know you don't have it yet, but I'm guessing you ordered it already? Price?

I like a stove-less setup too, and am always on the lookout for more ideas. I'm curious about your cookless Mountain House dinners. Which items are you referring to and how do you prepare them?

One tip you probably already know about, but just in case you don't – a Photon red colored led for your backup light uses the same batteries as the Petzl e-lite, and only one of course (CR2032s). That way if you carry a spare bat, the same one could work for both lights. The white Photons use the CR2016s.

I'm down to sub-4 now too, need to post my updated list.

All the best,

Jhaura

kevin davidson

@kdesign

Locale: Mythical State of Jefferson