Topic

Waterproof Shorts

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Waterproof Shorts

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Nathan Watts
    BPL Member

@7sport

I recently picked up a pair of 3/4 length waterproof breathable shorts. I've never used anything like this before, so was wondering if others had, or what you all thought about the concept.

In summer I either wear normal running shorts or pull on a pair of eVent long pants to deal with rainy conditions.

My thought is these shorts would vent much better than full pants, but obviously won't protect my lower legs from getting wet. I don't think that will bother me. And compared to normal shorts I suspect I'll feel a lot more comfortable if I can keep my upper legs etc. somewhat dry.

Let's hear your thoughts and experiences.

wander lust
    Spectator

@sol

Yes, rain short are great.

Better ventilation than any trousers, even if the actual shorts aren't made of any highly waterproof / breathable fabric.

You might want to wear or carry long socks / long gaiters for more extreme conditions or use the rain shorts in combination with basic windproof trousers.

No more rain trousers for me if it is not cold.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Personally i think rainskirts are a better idea for warm and wet conditions, and they are super easy to make. They aerate and cool better than shorts, and it's not even necessary to use WPB fabric in that case–hence some light and cheap sil nylon or the like works fine. I do like tyvek rainskirts though (which is somewhat breathable–though i have no idea about the CFM levels). I've thought of making a cuben fiber rainskirt–it's the one thing in C.F. that i might be able to afford.