Topic

Fixed Length Trekking Poles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Fixed Length Trekking Poles

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Sean Fletcher

@risen19

So I'm sure this has come up before but I'm in the market for fixed length poles.

I know the only trekking specific poles are from GG but I am very hard on poles and am wary that they're too ultralight to be durable.

I hate the locking mechanism on most other trekking poles and I've been considering ski poles instead. Has anyone had any experience with using ski poles or the GG LT3C? Is there a disadvantage to ski poles?

Thanks for the replies!

Sean

Richard Cullip
    BPL Member

@richardcullip

Locale: San Diego County

I've been using 125cm GG LT3C's for the past three years with no problems. Love the weight, or more accurately the lack of weight, of these poles. I went with 125cm fixed length poles because that's what my tent (GG the One) requires. The poles seem strong and resistant to breakage. I'm careful not to fall with/on them while they are wedged btwn rocks. That's about the only way I can imagine breaking one and I suspect that any pole out there would break under the same conditions.

Sean Fletcher

@risen19

I have heard something similar, Richard. The only way people break the poles is if they get into rocks and stuff like that. Do the poles flex at all? Can you confidently put quite a bit of weight on them?

Sean

BPLwiia
    Spectator

@bplwiia

I've got a pair of the LT3C and love them. At first, I was concerned they'd snap in two at the drop of a hat. No way. I've had several near falls where I had to put my full weight on one pole. It performed light a rock star.