Topic

Need help deciding between ULA 2.0 vs MLD Exodus FS

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Need help deciding between ULA 2.0 vs MLD Exodus FS

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Konrad .
    BPL Member

@konrad1013

I've narrowed it down to these two packs, but I'm honestly torn. I'm not interested in anything else. Here are my preliminary thoughts:

1) Volume is approx. the same between both, after adding 2 hipbelt pockets to the exodus FS
    2) Weight of Exodus FS w/ 2 pockets is ~25oz vs Weight of Ohm 2.0 is ~25oz (after removing all the accessory crap, but keeping foam back panel)
    3) I already love the circuit/catalyst hipbelt…one of the best belts I've ever worn. The MLD belt looks kinda crappy, but I have no personal experience
    4) ULA is using a new 210 Dyneema Grip Stop called "Robic" and from the facebook vids, it appears to have more tear-strength than any gridstop seen before
    5) I'm thinking the Exodus FS will carry better at weights 25lbs+
    6) I prefer mesh pockets and being able to see my stuff…so +1 to Exodus FS
    7) Compression systems…I'm used to the Exodus compression system (typical side compression straps and golite style compacktor system). Not too familiar with Ohm style compression…looks impossible to carry snowshoes on.
    8) Ohm only has one tool loop, but 2 tool retainer straps? Stupid. Exodus is more winter tool capable, but mesh pockets tend to collect more snow.
    9) Side note…what the hell happened to the Ohm 1.0??? It's no longer on their website.

I'm leaning towards the exodus but please discuss…Thanks!

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies

That sucks the regular Ohm is gone. I love mine. Here's a few comments: