Topic

Delorme InReach or Other???

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Delorme InReach or Other???

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Ben Wortman
    BPL Member

@bwortman

Locale: Nebraska

I have been trying to sort out the multiple “PLBs” on the market for the upcoming season and am looking for some real world experience. I don’t want to hash out what is a “real” PLB and what is not. I just want to hear peoples thoughts on the units that they have used. As far as my experience, I have been using a spot 1 for several years with no issues. I have always got the “OK” signal out to the family without failure on trips to CO, WY, and UT. The problem is that on longer trips I have always rented a SAT Phone so I could get in touch with the wife in case there was an emergency back home. In order to avoid this cost in the future, I was considering the Delorme In-Reach and pare it with my smart phone. While the subscription is pretty high, at least I would be able to avoid the sat phone rental at least once a year (about $100).

It seems that the Inreach would be the best option if I had to communicate with the family while on a trip. My other options are just to continue with the SPOT or get an ACR unit, and bite the bullet once a year for the sat phone. Even though the SPOT has worked very well for me so far, the multitude of horror stories with the SPOT has me worried.

So, Inreach users, what’s your thoughts?

Thanks
    Ben

Charles Jennings
    Spectator

@vigilguy

Locale: Northern Utah