Topic

Is it worth it?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Is it worth it?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Tad Englund
    BPL Member

@bestbuilder

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Ok, I think its time I get a real DSLR. I've been using a Nikon N70 for 15 years and the cost and availability to develop firm is killing me.

I need a camera for-
    Taking pictures for my business- I'm a building/remodeling contractor and need to supply my website and portfolio with "high quality" photos of before and after shots
    Family photo's- candid and otherwise.

I have been putting off getting a DLSR for years because of cost and compatibility with my existing lenses, I hate to waste stuff, I try and get all the life out of a product. The N70 has used its useful life, but what about my lenses, are they worth purchasing a new camera body around?

Here is what I have:
    Nikon AF Nikkor 24-120mm 1:3.5-5.6 D
    Nikon AF Nikkor 70-210mm 1:4-5.6 D
    Nikon Speedlight SB-28

So, a couple of questions/issues:

1. Do I get a whole new system (assuming what I have isn't worth trying to re-use)

2. Do I find a compatible Nikon body for my existing lenses (assuming what I have is good quality and worth working around)

3. If you agree with number 2 above what body do you suggest- new or used under $800

4. If the lenses aren't worth make a system work around them, what system would you suggest? Is there a lightweight camera system that will do what I need?

5. If a new system is suggested, what would you suggest? I'm not stuck on Nikon, I had a Canon set up that was stolen so I bought the Nikon stuff to replace it (just to try it out- 15 years ago)

Any other information to help move this forward would be appreciated,
    Tad

Rick M
    BPL Member

@yamaguy

del

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2