Topic

Can 3/4 of my wardrobe be hiking gear?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Can 3/4 of my wardrobe be hiking gear?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Josh Greninger

@travis-bickle

First off, let me say that I'm a college student and will be for the next 3 years. So, I won't be running around in a monkey suit anytime soon.
    I have a lot of button-up shirts, khakis, (Gant Rugger, APC, J Crew, etc) that I usually wear, but after acquiring a few Patagonia and Icebreaker pieces I'm starting to wonder if I can abandon the button-ups in my day-to-day life. The types of clothing that I can wear hiking are typically made to be comfortable, allow for a full range of motion in the arms and legs, are lightweight, but not always fashionable. My opinion on this has changed since I've started to rotate Patagonia and Icebreaker pieces into everyday use.

Has anyone tried to make more of your everyday wardrobe "hiking" clothes?

Can anyone recommend other manufacturers whose clothing has a "tailored" fit for an athletic build?

Am I just trying to make an excuse to buy more gear? Or am I just trying to simplify my life by combining clothing for both situations?

Mike Oxford
    BPL Member

@moxford

Locale: Silicon Valley, CA

Lots of people in the world use the same small set of clothes over and over.

The only downsides are:
    1) Lack of expression/style/freshness/etc
    2) Smaller set of clothes to be washed more frequently

In this case, hiking clothes are probably more expensive, so the more wear & tear (even from everyday use and simply washing) compared to stupid-cheap cotton clothing is, IMO, the only real consideration.

Nothing wrong with dual/triple/quad/penta-use gear! :)

-mox

michael levi

@m-l

Locale: W-Never Eat Soggy (W)affles