Topic

Recommend a hat/balaclava

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Recommend a hat/balaclava

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Kats

@boompig

I am looking for a good hat or balaclava for winter camping.

I'm new to winter camping – my first trip was last weekend, where the temperatures went down to -5C (23F). I really enjoyed how quiet it was, and want to repeat the experience. However, I know that the temps will only drop lower, so I want to be prepared.

I live in Ontario, Canada, so I'm expecting temperatures down to -25C (-13 F). I think I should go with a balaclava because it will keep my face warm (esp. useful while sleeping).

Should I be wearing a combination of things, like both a hat and balaclava? Would wearing a hood over the balaclava help? Significantly? Here are some balaclavas I looked out, but I was put off by the lack of feedback.

http://www.rei.com/product/725709/seirus-thermax-headliner-balaclava
    http://www.rei.com/product/725892/outdoor-research-option-balaclava
    http://www.mec.ca/AST/ShopMEC/MemberPicks/MensClothing/PRD~4013-186/outdoor-research-sonic-balaclava-unisex.jsp
    http://www.mec.ca/AST/ShopMEC/MemberPicks/Snowsports/PRD~5016-878/ctr-mistral-balaclava-unisex.jsp

I've heard good things about CRT in general as well, though I am not very familiar with the rest of their products.

Also, I couldn't find the weight for the Seirus balaclava. Does anyone know?

BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping

Locale: The Cascades

I'd get a hat to wear while hiking, and a down hood to wear while sleeping if you think you'd need it.

You can't get a better hat than one made by BPLs Kat P. [http://www.outdoortrailgear.com/cottage-industries/mountaingoatgear/mountaingoat-hats-goods-store/] Lots of us have them, I think we all love them.