Topic

New line for bear bagging

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) New line for bear bagging

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Leigh Baker
    BPL Member

@leighb

Locale: Northeast Texas Pineywoods

I need to replace my old bear bagging line spectra.)With use,it's become
    frayed. I see lots of options,too many in fact. There's dynaglide, fling it,zing it,slick line,and target line? Any of these better than others?

Thanks for your input :-)

Gary Dunckel
    BPL Member

@zia-grill-guy

Locale: Boulder

Leigh, I've been using Lawson's Ironwire for 2 years now, and it works great. 1000# strength, lightweight, and the urethane coating allows it to slide over things easily.

MFR
    Spectator

@bigriverangler

Locale: West

Ironwire is quite nice for bear bagging, but be careful when you use it. I once got some tangled up high, and the spectra core made it impossible to cut down. The line does tangle somewhat easily.

I still use, but it is worth your time to be careful with it.

Don Abernathey

@oldguysrule

Locale: PNW

YouTube video

Ryan Smith
    BPL Member

@violentgreen

Locale: East TN

+1 for IronWire. Highly visible, holds knots well, etc. You can get it for 20% off right now with free shipping also.

http://lawsonequipment.com/All-Products/Dyneema-IronWire-p514.html

Ryan

Raquel Rascal
    Spectator

@flutingaround

Is this the product you are talking about?

http://www.amickssuperstore.com/Arborist_Samson_Zing_It_2_2mm_180ft_Throwing_Line_p/arborist%20samson%20zing-it%202.2mm.htm

Seems like a good price for a life-time supply of line. I'm getting into tarps right now- will this line work well for tarp pitching?

Marc Eldridge
    BPL Member

@meld

Locale: The here and now.
    M B
    BPL Member

@livingontheroad