Topic

Built a Website

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

Well, really a blog I guess. But all of this is new for me. I have been playing around with this for a few months, mostly concentrating on how to do it, more than quality of material.

popupbackpacker.com

A couple reasons I did this:

I have a lot of pictures stored on Webshots.com and they are changing their format. I am afraid it is going to become a social networking site. Not interested.

The second is the difficulty of posting stuff (especially trip reports) on BPL. Plus it takes a lot of time to post some things, and I don't want to lose my work if BPL goes away.

When I looked into building a website/blog, I decided to go with a WordPress template — much easier than actually learning how to build a website, plus I am not that interested in becoming proficient at HTML.

I did decide to register a domain and am using HostGator to host the site.

Edited because I can't seem to use HTML to correctly link to a URL :)

Richard Cullip
    BPL Member

@richardcullip

Locale: San Diego County

Looking good, Nick. I'll be spending some time over there reading your trip reports.

a b

@ice-axe

Just to let you know the "follow" feature worked fine, now i can get your blog sent to my email.
    Looking forward to following the "sage" of the sagebrush.

I am also interested because i have been considering doing something like this myself but am clueless about this whole internet HTLM site press thingy.

John Whynot

@jdw01776

Locale: Southeast Texas

Looking forward to reading your trip reports. I also like the "Vintage Gear", or as I like to call it "Stuff I used when I was in College", brings back good memories…

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there