Topic

Marmot Minimalist

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Marmot Minimalist

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Justin McCabe

@justinmc

Locale: Southern California

Hi everyone,

My name is Justin and I'm a newbie to backpacking. I'm lucky to have caught wind of the UL way before too many 35 LB weekend trips (one was enough). I'm currently reinventing my big 3, (1 down, pack and sleeping set-up left!). I had a question about the Marmot Minimalist jacket, has anyone had any experience with it or thoughts of comparable pieces?

It has the lure of being an all-around jacket for skiing, rain protection,climbing, and as an over-insulation shell.

And I found it for $90, which never hurts.

Ozzy McKinney
    Spectator

@porcupinephobia

Locale: PNW

A quick look at marmots site says 15oz… at least in the weird world of BPL, this is crazy heavy. I have a full on bells-and-whistles bomb proof mountaineering shell that weighs 17oz in a large.

In the world of "do it all" shells, you will have to sacrifice weight at some point. You can get a bomber event shell from Rab for about 10oz, albeit not $90.

If you wanted this jacket as a go-to for other activities, you could always get it and then get a 5oz Dri-Ducks jacket for lightweight backpacking. It appears you live in socal, if so a Dri-Ducks could last you years and years :-P

You will find that not many of the items championed on this site are great "all-rounders", however they are usually cheap and stupidly light.

Edit- golite has the Malpais in stock for $80. WP/B, 7oz.

Justin McCabe

@justinmc