Topic

Section 12 of the MST trail

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Section 12 of the MST trail

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Adam Suiter

@charlestonff

Locale: South East

I am wanting to take up backpacking and want to start out with a smaller 2 day hiking trip. I am thinking about going with a buddy on the MST trail and do section 12 from Ripshin Ridge to Beacon Heights Overlook in Pisgah NF. I am thinking about going in early November or early December. Are the roads, and trails open this time of year?

I am also looking for a map with camp sites along the trail as well as any information/ recommendations anybody has on this section fo the trail. I am also looking for other recommendations of potential 2 day trails. Like I said I am new to this and I don't have much gear and need to get started any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Adam

Ozzy McKinney
    Spectator

@porcupinephobia

Locale: PNW

I don't know much about the trail, but a quick look at their website shows they have maps and trail info. As far as gear goes, just remember to keep it simple. Look on Steepandcheap.com for super cheap gear. Don't go right out and buy a $500 tent or a $300 pack until you know what you like.

Ike Jutkowitz
    BPL Member

@ike

Locale: Central Michigan

pm sent.
    Hopefully Scott Waldop, Brad Fisher, Walter C, or Craig Burton will chime in as well. I got a lot of help from those guys when I was planning my trip.

Brad Fisher
    Spectator

@wufpackfn

Locale: NC/TN/VA Mountains

I doubt you will have any trouble accessing the trails. However they will close the Blue Ridge Parkway if they see any chance of icing. I have use this number for BRP weather conditions 828-298-0398. BTW this is the termination of section 12 at Beacon Heights if my memory serves me correct.