Topic

what sort of water containers do you use with a steripen?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) what sort of water containers do you use with a steripen?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    Confused Newbie
    Spectator

@confused

Locale: Northern CO

I have a very old water filter and am thinking of switching to a system where I treat water with UV, and have chlorine dioxide tablets as a backup. I'm still learning to go UL, and wonder how folks use the steripen with their water containers. Recently I'd been hiking with used 1L water bottles (I go to the store and purchase the cheapest bottled water, and use that). But the narrow tops seem like they wouldn't work with a UV source. So, pardon my ignorance, but how do you do it? Mostly I will be hiking in U.S. mountainous areas, if that helps. Thanks.

jason quick
    Spectator

@jase

Locale: A tent in my backyard - Melbourne

Hi Derek

I use a Steripen, and love its simplicity.

I have an old Nalgene Cantene 32oz soft bottle. I cut the top off it. When I need to sterilise water, I open the cantene out to form a large 32oz cup. It's great for scooping water. Then, you simply insert the Steripen and you're away. It holds its shape well, is tough, and when not in use, I put my steripen inside and roll it all up, holding it together with an elastic band.

Brad Walker

@brawa

Locale: SoCal

I carry an extra cap to my gatorade bottles with a slot for the steripen cut out. See Tad's post about 3/4 the way down here: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=19105

It works great. I use a Traveler Mini (shorter Adventurer, basically)

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington