Topic

Sewing Machine broke last night…this looks interesting for a replacement:

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sewing Machine broke last night…this looks interesting for a replacement:

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jordo _99
    BPL Member

@jordo_99

Locale: Nebraska

http://lincoln.craigslist.org/atq/3214772036.html

…I'm waiting to hear back about the model for this, but I know it has been sitting in a box unserviced for the past 8 years.

I'm not sure what to offer for a price, so I thought I'd ask on here as I'm a novice when it comes to sewing machines…I just need a long straight stitch, bar tack and on rare occasions (but could easily live without) a zigzag stitch.

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

Keep hitting the thrift stores. I have never paid more than $35. And my last find for $25 looks like brand new. Don't rush, look around.

Michael Duke

@mpd1690

Good luck. I'm sure you will find something soon. Let us know what you find! Any machine that has a bar tack function should have a zig zag stitch. You may have better luck just looking for a straight stitch and zig zag combo. No bar tack. You can make them yourself. It is just a zigzag stitch over a straight stitch.

Hobbes W

@hobbesatronic

Locale: SoCal

I'm sorry, but $200 for that POS?! What's goin' on in Lincoln? Something in the water? When it comes to Singers, the only models you should be looking for are:

– 66/99
    – 15-91
    – 201
    – 301
    – 401-404
    – 237

I browsed around your local CL, and came across this ad for a 404 & 501 (really, a 401 with a Rockateer shell):

http://lincoln.craigslist.org/fuo/3172749715.html