Topic

Buying a pack with or without compression straps?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Buying a pack with or without compression straps?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    William Lotman
    BPL Member

@wl1193

Locale: East Bay

Hi everyone. I am new to backpacking. I have done a lot of reading and have narrowed down my choices on a pack. I am interested in buying a Gossamer Gear Mariposa pack or a ULA Circuit pack. The Mariposa does not have side compression straps while the Circuit does.

What are the disadvantages or advantages of the straps? How important are they? I live in California and I will be carrying a bear cannister where required.

Thanks,
    Will

drowning in spam

@leaftye

Locale: SoCal

I greatly prefer using the pack for compression instead of using compression stuff sacks. I find that that allows for quickly pack loading in the morning.

The Mariposa does have loops along its side that you can use to add compression along the side panels.

I don't have much bear canister experience, but when I carried one, the bear canister was stuffed vertically inside the pack with the rest of my gear around it. Things were so tight that there wasn't much compression left to do.

David Thomas
    BPL Member

@davidinkenai

Locale: North Woods. Far North.

I like compression straps on a pack so I can keep the load close to my back (and not have to lean so far forward to balance the pack's weight).