Topic

Gear recommendations for beginner backpackers.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Gear recommendations for beginner backpackers.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Ben Brogie

@babrogie

I have some friends that want to get into doing overnights. They have been asking me for gear recommendations, but what do you tell them when you use a tarp, sleep in a home made quilt, and use Pepsi cans for a stove. I really want them to get into backpacking but I don't think they are ready for the ultra lite just yet.

EndoftheTrail
    BPL Member

@ben2world-2

Are you going with them? Or can you 'demo' your alky and other UL gear on a day trip (or even backyard) with them? If so, then I think it's an excellent idea to start people right off with the right kind of gear.

I was a complete newbie back in 2004 — starting off 'traditional light' but hated it and switched to UL within months with no ill effect.

The one caveat is whether these newbies are doing their overnight on rough terrain and cold temp? If so, then gear selection is probably the least of their problems, and you might want to dissuade them. But otherwise, most all 3-season hikes, UL gear should be fine, even for newbies.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

You take the friends out on a dayhike of a few miles, and you hand them two backpacks that you've prepared. One contains traditional gear, and it weighs 30 pounds or so. The other contains ultralight gear, and it weighs 15 pounds or so. One friend starts with the big one, and one friend starts with the small one. Then halfway around the dayhike, they swap. At the end, you take back both backpacks and then ask them which way they want to go for an overnight trip.

–B.G.–

drowning in spam

@leaftye

Locale: SoCal